How to Create Cinematic Car Shots with Insta360 One X, DIY Camera Car Rig, Bushman monopod review


In this video, you’ll learn how to make cinematic car shots with a DIY camera car rig. You’ll learn how to make awesome car videos that look like they were shot by a camera car, but you’ll be able to do it without a camera crew. Now by the way, if you’re new to this channel, FYI it’s about 360 and 3PV cameras. If you want to learn more about this exciting new way to shoot videos, then hit the subscribe button and the notification bell! If you love cars and you love video, then chances are you’ve wanted to make a video that shows your car in action just like what you’ve seen on movies and in ads. Now the reality is that those car shots are not that easy. Usually they require a camera car with the customized rig and you’ll usually need a team: someone to control the camera plus another person to drive the other car. But I found a way so that regular guys like you and me can also do these cinematic car shots and you can do it by yourself. Let me show you how I discovered it. It all started when this company called Bushman sent this monopod. My friend Ben Clermont (Life in 360) has already reviewed it and called it the best 360 monopod ever and for the most part I agree with him. Let me tell you why. It’s very tall but it’s also stiff so that you can extend it fully even with the camera at the end of it and it’s not going to droop. And more importantly, it’s very narrow a lot narrower than the kodak monopod. So it’s gonna be invisible to most 360 cameras. Now if you don’t know why a thin monopod becomes invisible to 360 cameras then check out this tutorial. This is now the monopod that I use most often. If you want to find out why then check out the link in the description below. But what really intrigued me was this. This is an accessory for the Bushman monopod called the Popeye and It’s a magnetic base that holds a lot of weight (45kg force). Now this stand got me thinking about cinematic car shots. See, the thing is, I’ve been using third-person view cameras, and I knew that could be used for that. But the problem was how to mount it to the car and I have this suction mount and Extension arm and I’ve tried that. It kind of works, but it’s a little bit short. Now I could use a longer extension but I was worried that the suction cup wouldn’t be able to hold it. Now the Popeye is a pretty strong magnet But more portly the 1/4-20 connector is directly attached to the base, so that makes it work better than the suction cup. And it worked! But it was still a little too short. So I tried to extend the Bushmen pole, but there were three problems. First of all it became easier to pop it off So it made me nervous about losing my camera. Second, the strength of the attachment really depends in the hood: The way it’s shaped — if it’s flat or its rounded. Even the angle. And there’s some cars where the hood doesn’t even stick to magnets. And third even when the Bushman monopod was extended it was still too short. So I wondered how can I improve this? Finally, I got the idea to use leverage. Here’s how it works. If I attach the pole and the base directly to the car, then the longer the pole is, the easier it is to pop off the hood. But we can make it stronger by adding a fulcrum. With a fulcrum, It becomes a lot stronger. And what fulcrum did I use? The side mirror! Oh I forgot… So, how’d it turn out? Well, it was very stable, but it was still too short. So to put the camera in front of the car, I used a really long selfie stick called the telesin selfie stick. It’s also sold by Insta360. They call it extended selfie stick. But basically, this is like a super long selfie stick. By the way, when you do this, be sure to check your local laws regarding the maximum overhang for vehicles. There it is… It’s connected… Oh, yeah, we’re in business! Finally I could get a view that looked like it was shot from a camera car. Now the problem with the telesin is that it flexed too much. Not only that but when I went over bumps, Especially speed bumps, it would bounce up and down kind of like a pendulum effect, and it really made me Worried about having the pole pop off. So how do we make the pole stronger? Well, I happen to have two of them So I zip-tied two of them side by side. Let’s see… is it any stiffer? Well, it kind of looks like it might be. This might work! Yes Definitely stiffer And it looked great. Check it out It gave me a third-person view kind of like it was from a chase car. But at the same time it was also stable. Now there’s one more thing. In the video, you saw this little black mark and I’m gonna try to get rid of it and I think I know how. This is it. I think this is what’s causing this black mark and you know what? I think it’s not that hard to remove it. Look. You can move it. We’ll just leave it there. here’s the the live preview. Check that out Now let’s try it one more time. Yes it works! Now besides a first-person view you can use the Popeye for other kinds of car shots like this. Or this. Now remember this could have been a simple monopod review, but I wanted to give you guys so much more. So if you want in-depth reviews and innovative techniques that you’re not gonna find anywhere else, then hit the subscribe button and the notification bell. And if you wanted to use your car as a chase car to shoot the video of another car you can do that, too. In fact You’ll be able to pan and tilt the video even without the cameraman. And if you have a second Popeye, You can attach your pole to non-magnetic surfaces like windows. So now let’s break down the cost. First of all you need to telesin selfie sticks. Each of them is around $30. So that would be $60 then you’ll need some zip ties. So that’s around $4 and you’ll also need the Manfrotto super clamp. So that’s around $30. The Bushman Popeye is thirty nine euros and if you want to use this setup for a camera car Then you can get the Bush man monopod for a hundred six euros. Finally, there’s the camera. This technique can actually work with a lot of different 360 cameras but they have to be stabilized. The better the Stabilization, the better the video will be. As of December 2018. The camera I would recommend is the Insta360 One X because it’s super detailed, very stable and very light and There’s this new feature that can show you the speed as an overlay on for your video. But if you want to get the Insta360 One X Insta360 One X with a free invisible selfie stick then check out this link below. Wanna see me use the One X while bungee Jumping? Then check out my review! Or if you want to see what other 360 cameras you can use and check out this buying guide. Meanwhile in my next video I’m gonna revisit the Osmo pocket and Insta360 One X Comparison and I’ll be including a new competitor that has most of the strengths of the Osmo pocket, but none of its weaknesses Thanks, and I’ll see you in 360!

56 Comments

  1. 360Rumors January 2, 2019 at 6:09 pm

    Happy New Year! Here's a video that shows you how to make cinematic car shots without a camera crew, using the Bushman Monopod and a 360 camera such as the Insta360 One X! You can assemble the rig in about 2 minutes, and it costs only a fraction of a custom car rig.

    Where to buy:

    * Insta360 One X http://bit.ly/onexdiscount

    * 360 camera buying guide http://bit.ly/best360dec2018

    * Bushman Popeye http://bit.ly/360popeye

    * Bushman monopod http://bit.ly/360bushman

    * Telesin selfie stick https://amzn.to/2LKMKwI

    * Manfrotto super clamp https://amzn.to/2Rrj9xH

  2. James Sanderson January 2, 2019 at 6:16 pm

    Another great video from such an enthusiastic producer… Cheers

  3. Mike Boening January 2, 2019 at 6:28 pm

    Knocked it out of the park Mic. Love this. Going to working on this soon.

  4. Beanie Draws January 2, 2019 at 7:17 pm

    Keep going the way you're going and this channel is going to blow up man! You're in a real unique position and you make me want to get one of those cameras for myself. You should definitely check out Roberto Blake because he's big on camera gear, and you really got some video making style and editing! Huge kudos man. If you haven't hit 100k by the end of 2019 I'll be really surprised!

  5. Xenoloves January 2, 2019 at 7:23 pm

    Quick question; what are you using for external audio with the One X? My GF will be happy that she doesn't have to hold her hand out the window during winter anymore! 🙂 Thanks for the great video!

  6. Manoj Achrekar January 2, 2019 at 7:32 pm

    Awesome ????

  7. Cyrille Beenhackker January 2, 2019 at 7:37 pm

    Happy new year! Thank you for this great cinematic explanation video.

  8. Future Video Media January 2, 2019 at 8:52 pm

    great video. how did you record the audio while walking in the beginning? looking for an affordabke way to record my audio for vlogging

  9. Pete R January 2, 2019 at 10:08 pm

    Still have to use my Telesin. Amazing that 2 Telesins are cheaper than one from Insta360.

  10. VR 360 TV January 2, 2019 at 11:27 pm

    Great video Mick 🙂

  11. sergio basilioli January 2, 2019 at 11:39 pm

    Great idea Mick: Next time I'm in the countryside I'm going to try it! Thanks mate!

  12. Do Re Mi January 3, 2019 at 12:03 am

    Good job! We really love your trick test video 🙂

  13. brendon gee January 3, 2019 at 12:21 am

    Great video to end 2018 with. Even my girls watch the video (their 2.5yrs).

  14. Scojo in 360 January 3, 2019 at 4:35 am

    Dude, you rock. That was one of your best.

  15. Off The Jacks January 3, 2019 at 10:16 am

    Oh my gosh! I do video and pictures at car shows and ordered a YI 360 VR last week and hope it will work for this!
    I am sure my car guys will be able to build a rig for it that will be stable. They build rat rods, so this should be a breeze.
    Cruising the Las Vegas Strip with this view would be a blast!

  16. 李亚飞 January 3, 2019 at 10:46 am

    新年快乐~

  17. Catalin Colniceanu January 3, 2019 at 12:50 pm

    I just filmed one yesterday, using only the 3 m rod. I'll post it soon. I'm thinking that maybe we can stiffen the rod by attaching a transparent fishing wire near the camera and onto the car bumper. It is pretty cold here in Romania, so maybe you can give it a try there. looking forward to the result. 🙂

  18. Daniela Tocan January 3, 2019 at 5:52 pm

    Hi will be better not to give amazon links this make it very expensive… Telsin price is 18 € just if you spend some time to look in ebay.

  19. Daniela Tocan January 3, 2019 at 5:55 pm

    @ben cleremont makes it much more better now. He prints an expected price directeoy in a video popup. I guess you know my video tutorials how i did mount the 3 meters telsin and fly a race drone.

  20. Custard Donuts January 3, 2019 at 6:46 pm

    Happy new year!

  21. DrPokiBoy January 3, 2019 at 6:58 pm

    Happy new year guys!

  22. luke williams January 3, 2019 at 11:12 pm

    Excellent video and ideas

  23. Andrea Baggio January 4, 2019 at 5:58 am

    As always, great tutorial! but most of all thanks for sharing such fantastic ideas about how to do it!!

  24. Guy Richard January 4, 2019 at 4:25 pm

    Bonne Année ✌
    Nice wheels ???

  25. Jason V January 5, 2019 at 2:47 am

    I love these videos but are you worried about scratching the lens on the camera having it out there like that? I'm so impatient but at the same time I'm worried I'll scratch lens doing something like this…do you have connections to getting the be venture case? Pleeesssssseeee.. ?

  26. Bobster986 January 6, 2019 at 3:35 am

    The ring light highlights in your eyes looks bizarre dude.

  27. ke6gwf January 6, 2019 at 6:05 am

    If you used gaff tape wrapped tightly around your twin sticks, you would create a much more stable truss structure.
    The zip ties still allow some lengthwise movement between the two sticks, so they are acting like 2 separate structures.
    If you gaffed them together with one above the other, it turns into a truss with a beam under compression and one under tension, and should bounce less.

  28. Fitopardo360 January 6, 2019 at 6:17 am

    Thank you for sharing this, I am using a special clamp over the roof of the car with sunroof and a special iron cable to hold it for safety, if the camera clamp falls the camera wont go anywhere, it works well also.

  29. Roland Med. January 6, 2019 at 3:17 pm

    How to edit any #360degree video, any #360camera
    by using #Insta360 ONE X (Android App )

    ? ? https://youtu.be/Xcx0ztRmUpk

  30. Ansuman Mahapatra January 8, 2019 at 6:32 pm

    Lovely

  31. Fred Stork January 8, 2019 at 10:20 pm

    Hi, great idea, thanks for sharing! How far from the front of the car does the stick extend?

  32. Hesham Tahoun January 11, 2019 at 7:04 pm

    whats the setup you use for the segment when you are talking to the camera???
    I love the video effect, the lighting focu on the face, faded background, and the glimmer in the eye.

  33. hasoevo January 15, 2019 at 10:38 am

    Brilliant idea. Sorry to go off topic. ? Do you know if it's possible to use 360/180 photos to create a 3D model or 360 3D photosphere with 6DoF like properties through photogrammetry to create VR environments? Walkabouts app is the closest thing I've found, but it needs much more development, Cupix 3D isn't quite there yet either for it's price IMO. Here's an example of the 3D characteristics I'm m trying to achieve in a 360 photo.
    https://scenes.matterport.com/models/b9243bb1-5d06-4c9b-9bcb-24fc547ad0ff

  34. AH360 January 17, 2019 at 7:18 am

    So I use to be able to take my dslr 360 photos (7680), upload them into premiere pro, export as 360, and then place them into YouTube as a 360 video.

    Now i try and Youtube gives me black static, although all my old footage still plays. Ive tried on 2018 and 2019 premiere. Anyone else having this issue???

  35. Min Thu January 18, 2019 at 5:41 pm

    No, I don't want to hit subscribe button.

    because I already did it long time ago. 😀

  36. Chris Kioone January 29, 2019 at 6:54 pm

    This video is super helpful and really cool.

  37. MOTOTravel UK February 6, 2019 at 9:44 am

    Great idea, I'll try it on my motorbike travels ?

  38. Diogenes Reyes February 7, 2019 at 4:06 am

    What mic r u using when outside by the pool? It sounded clear.

  39. Tristan Gurnea February 20, 2019 at 7:01 am

    Do you use an external mic?

  40. Eat Sleep 360 February 20, 2019 at 10:49 am

    That's a really cool idea – thanks

  41. T K April 11, 2019 at 3:37 pm

    Ordered the 360 one x and while waiting I am watching your vids on how to and more. Thank You so much it’s going to jumpstart and help me so much

  42. Roma Maastricht April 25, 2019 at 8:58 pm

    How to add sound from external mic to insta360 footage??

  43. RecursosEnInternet May 6, 2019 at 12:37 pm

    360Rumors, What would you say is the best option? BUSHMAN MONOPOD or maybe MonoShot version 2? For example, if I want to leave the insta360 one x in the middle of a room and take a 3d photo, which is the best option? (I've seen that the monoshot can even be stuck in the lawn!) Which do you recommend for rigidity and for quality and results?

  44. Dido Batko June 10, 2019 at 11:13 am

    Nice video, btw u look like Jackie Chan's cousin 😀

  45. Emilyn June 19, 2019 at 7:20 pm

    does the insta360 one x default have wireless viewing or did you use some other function? or is it region locked? cant find info on it online (current i can only trigger the shutter but cant view it)

  46. Rusiru Rupasinghe June 20, 2019 at 2:19 am

    Mic..i really gotta say this
    Your insta360 videos has the best video quality on youtube which makes me wanna buy one of these..videos from other creators look like there are from early age 5 megapixel cellphone cam.

    Im very concerned in the quality of the video.
    Are there any 360' cams under 600$ that has better video quality than insta360?

  47. kellis cooper July 4, 2019 at 12:28 pm

    hello , nice to see your new video . i was just wondering what can i use for third person view on my bicycle . something realy stiff to hold the selfie stick to the handlebar or to the saddle . what do you think the super clamp will do the job ?

  48. admiralking July 9, 2019 at 2:43 pm

    Fantastic video. Such a difference.

  49. batres1 July 18, 2019 at 4:45 am

    I just got the insta360 one X and my plan was to use it as a travel 3PV camera but, I just try exporting one short clip and it has a Shot on Insta360 one X watermark is there any settings able to remove this watermark?

    Insta360 is not paying me for advertising their products on my videos.

    Thanks man!

  50. Wang King September 10, 2019 at 2:31 am

    Hi,your video is great! May I ask what model of telesin ,you use in video?Thank you~

  51. Vo Stern productions October 13, 2019 at 5:21 pm

    Cool video.check out my first insta360 one X video
    https://youtu.be/sefxk9XamaA

  52. greg Wilson October 17, 2019 at 10:30 am

    Hello thanks for another awesome video but a curious question how did you get such good quality microphone on the Insta360onex

  53. Svend Even Hærra November 3, 2019 at 7:46 pm

    Great video Michael, just what I was looking for. I will do something like this soon but when its dark ? i will add some Luxli light with colors and pulse. But what kind of settings would you use?

  54. Mike Felker November 18, 2019 at 12:57 am

    Good stuff! Can you use the extended selfie stick with the new Insta360 EVO? I bought one and have the carbon fiber selfie stick. I'd love to shoot car videos like you described. Thank you.

  55. unwrapping by mimi koteng November 30, 2019 at 11:42 am

    Amazing

  56. naresh madnani December 7, 2019 at 11:32 am

    Great info sir.
    Which is the circular Ring light you r using.
    It has very nice effect on your skin and eye.
    Kindly inform.
    Thanks ?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *