Canon C500 Mkii Review | Ultimate Full Frame 5.9k Documentary Camera?


100 Comments

  1. Marco Aslan January 25, 2020 at 11:23 am

    Can the camera autofocus with cine lenses? Can the cine lens and the camera communicate ?

  2. Amin Bajrektarevic January 25, 2020 at 11:23 am

    Holy sh*t that youtube compression in the forest is borderline unwatchable!

  3. Tekky Thai January 25, 2020 at 11:30 am

    Gene, how come we never see you use the Black magic camera anymore?

  4. Leighton Gill January 25, 2020 at 11:35 am

    This, and the latest PMK video just feel like long drawn out adverts for gear I'll never be able to afford. Just saying. Anyway, I'm outta here.

  5. Enzo Pulido January 25, 2020 at 11:47 am

    Happy Birthday.

  6. Romain Rouillé January 25, 2020 at 11:51 am

    Hey my dreams’ potato, can you make a video about the new Pana S1H, it records 6K —> 4:3 & 5.9K —> 16:9.
    Full frame.
    That would be awesome ! Thanks !

  7. Evgeniy Makarenko January 25, 2020 at 11:53 am

    Thailand? I guess, we need to put some 2019-nCoV jokes here

  8. Paul January 25, 2020 at 11:54 am

    15:16 Wouldn't 1 Boom + 1 Lav each person require 4 XLR-Ports?

  9. Zed-Ex Gaming January 25, 2020 at 12:06 pm

    Really enjoyed this video, I'd be interested to see some more documentary stuff you make

  10. Yobi 06 January 25, 2020 at 12:07 pm

    Thanks

  11. courteous Sammy January 25, 2020 at 12:24 pm

    "this is a verry convenient camera to use !" apparently convenient is very subjective xD

  12. Marty Beyer January 25, 2020 at 12:29 pm

    Happy Birthday Gene 🤘

  13. SaayHeeeey January 25, 2020 at 12:35 pm

    Sony FX9 vs C500II would be very interessting 😁

  14. Unclassified Perspectives January 25, 2020 at 1:14 pm

    I just wanted to say thank so much for all the advice and knowledge you share on your channel. Because of you and others I was able to improve the look of my channel and launch a media company of my own on the side last year. Your inspiring keep doing what you do.. It makes a difference.

  15. Golden Eagle Cinema January 25, 2020 at 1:16 pm

    Happy B-Day Old man! <3

  16. Brendon Greenfields January 25, 2020 at 1:28 pm

    Yo hit me up if you ever in South Africa

  17. Jude Luckin January 25, 2020 at 1:37 pm

    Happy Birthday man, thanks for the great content

  18. Josh McMillan January 25, 2020 at 1:37 pm

    ok ive found my dream camera setup. I love RED but i aint getting one if it doesnt have autofocus, i hope the Komodo 6K has autofocus with the EF mount.

  19. Trevor Bagnell January 25, 2020 at 1:41 pm

    Just a little out of my snack bracket, at $16K US ($21K Cdn) I don't anticipate picking one up anytime soon. Would I love to have one of these? Of course!

  20. Edmund from Singapore January 25, 2020 at 1:44 pm

    Happy birthday!

  21. G Money January 25, 2020 at 1:47 pm

    C500 Mark II vs BMPCC6K

  22. Von Darnell January 25, 2020 at 1:47 pm

    Here's a review that I would love: C500 with EF IS and non-IS lenses, comparing to EOS R with RF IS lenses. I have both the EOS R and C200 currently, and I am not sold on the in-body digital stabilization of the EOS R (but I don't yet own the RF lenses). So, for YouTube quality b-roll, am I better off buying some RF IS lenses with my EOS R (and future EOS Cinema cameras), or better to sell the C200 for the in-body stabilization of the C500 mkii? 😐

  23. Robert Jones January 25, 2020 at 1:54 pm

    Happy birthday bro! ☺️🙏

  24. Adam Cook January 25, 2020 at 2:03 pm

    Hey PJ, do you have a link for the hotel? I'd love to check it out.

  25. Adonis G January 25, 2020 at 2:16 pm

    Happy birthday!

  26. Funny How January 25, 2020 at 2:18 pm

    Happy Birthday Potato, PS, just watched UP on Disney Plus yesterday.

  27. Aliabbas Mohammadi January 25, 2020 at 2:20 pm

    Happy birthday!!! Do what you doing wish a good day a head !

  28. Ed Du January 25, 2020 at 2:21 pm

    Congrats!

  29. Franklin Ruiz January 25, 2020 at 2:25 pm

    C500 MKII VS. BMPCC 6K!!!

  30. alisson irineu January 25, 2020 at 2:33 pm

    unfortunately i bought days ago in amazon, good price there https://amzn.to/2tGcHJq

  31. Dan Williams January 25, 2020 at 2:35 pm

    Compare to the 90D as well as the R.

  32. Ty The Creator January 25, 2020 at 2:44 pm

    Congrats with your BDay 🙂

  33. Canyon Duncan January 25, 2020 at 2:46 pm

    Canon C500 vs Canon 1DX Mark III

  34. OmarOmarOmar January 25, 2020 at 2:47 pm

    Would be awesome to get some videos of you behind the scenes on your commercials and shoots man. All your videos are of you reviewing and promoting stuff most of us can't afford. Would be cool to see how you work so we can learn valuable tips on set.

  35. Batteries Are Included UAS, LLC January 25, 2020 at 2:50 pm

    Hey papa (that's potatoe in espanol) Jet, Happy birthday brother!

  36. Baltic Boy Wandering January 25, 2020 at 2:56 pm

    Happy birthday

  37. Andre Maranhao January 25, 2020 at 2:56 pm

    Happy Birthday, Gene! Mine is one day earlier than yours🤗

  38. DHOWSR4DEEPDEPOT January 25, 2020 at 2:58 pm

    Happy birthday Mr.Jet !!!

  39. Sam Lucas January 25, 2020 at 3:02 pm

    Compare it to the c200!!!!!

    Please lol

  40. Ayush Sharma January 25, 2020 at 3:40 pm

    You can attach the monitor on a friction arm, instead of directly attaching it to the gimbal rig

  41. Tomas Fransson January 25, 2020 at 3:43 pm

    Good to see Lefty again!

  42. Ayush Sharma January 25, 2020 at 3:48 pm

    Alexa vs c500

  43. Goh Teik Chuan January 25, 2020 at 3:52 pm

    Happy birthday man !

  44. Funk Pages January 25, 2020 at 3:58 pm

    All you need is tens of thousands of dollars and you can have a great camera. Next up – million dollar car! lol

  45. Aaron Van Domelen January 25, 2020 at 3:59 pm

    I could have sworn I’ve heard in interviews that the c500 uses accelerometers as without that data it would not be able to compute the stabilization efficiently. Consider how long warp stabilizer takes on desktop. The artifacts you are see may be more due to the limitation of the stabilization to begin to worsen the more telephoto the lens being used.

  46. Robert Livingstone January 25, 2020 at 4:02 pm

    You should do Arri Alexa Classic vs Canon C500 Mkii

    Happy Birthday!

  47. Marcin Adamowicz January 25, 2020 at 4:03 pm

    I prefer your 6.000$ Arri Alexa. The image is just beautiful. Oh and all the best to you Gene!

  48. Ambient Film January 25, 2020 at 4:04 pm

    Happy birthday! 🙂
    And thanks for another awesome vlog.

  49. Its Ya Boy Blake January 25, 2020 at 4:11 pm

    lol I really though your were gonna put it in the pool hahaha!

  50. C Miller January 25, 2020 at 4:14 pm

    Ask Canon to update this and C200 with the ability to turn off the LCD to save battery! It's crazy you can't turn off the LCD with a button push.

  51. Alex Raasch January 25, 2020 at 4:16 pm

    Happy Birthday 🙂

  52. Eddie Nunez January 25, 2020 at 4:31 pm

    Holy crap! I thought you was really going to submerge it in water! LOL

  53. Josecitox January 25, 2020 at 4:39 pm

    Fun fact, in spanish your name would be "Papa Jet", keep it in mind when you're a 50 yr old. 😂

  54. Anthony Mangano January 25, 2020 at 4:42 pm

    Happy belated birthday!! I’m 51 and don’t act my age so don’t feel bad about 31 🥳🎂🎊🎁🎉🎈

  55. Brian Chao January 25, 2020 at 4:46 pm

    so, uh, a documentary camera…does that mean a marriage proposal video is bound to happen?

  56. noahsduck 4 January 25, 2020 at 4:48 pm

    Potato Jet-lagged

  57. Optimus Films January 25, 2020 at 4:50 pm

    Amazing 😍 You used the Canon 24-70 ?

    Id like to see EOS R Sven 90D, i Need a Second Cam (C200 Main User)

  58. Eddie Nunez January 25, 2020 at 4:52 pm

    10:36 Damnnnn that dog hair!

  59. Matt Frieden January 25, 2020 at 4:53 pm

    Happy 31st Birthday!!

  60. Matthew Hunt January 25, 2020 at 4:54 pm

    6:02 "…lasts for more than 4 hours, contact a doctor immediately"

    Joking aside, this has a more distinctly unique feel than a lot of other cameras you've showcased. I can't really pinpoint what it is, but I'd definitely like to see a comparison with the EOS R so we could better understand it.

  61. Trevor Gay January 25, 2020 at 5:04 pm

    Happy Birthday Gene! I appreciate your energy! I've been super stoked to see your thoughts and all the footage from the C500mkii – cant wait to get one!

  62. Aleuez January 25, 2020 at 5:13 pm

    happy birthday

  63. Scott Milholland January 25, 2020 at 5:20 pm

    Happy Birthday brother! Best wishes to you and your family!

  64. Maxence Rebut January 25, 2020 at 5:35 pm

    Gene, to overcome all of your credit card dept, you should give a c500 away to me.. I mean one of your viewers.

  65. Perliner Dudes January 25, 2020 at 5:35 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  66. Richard James Milne January 25, 2020 at 5:36 pm

    TOUGH SELL! If your not National Geographic or BBC why would you buy a camera of this size for this type of work or for YouTube vlogging? That's Nuts! Lets face it, 80% of YouTube is still shooting HD! If you need 4K or 6K quality then be smart and purchase the right camera for the job! The Panasonic GH5/GH5s or S1/S1H would be get choices for your kit and can do a much better job… or just become a Buddha Monk 😉

  67. Violet Henning January 25, 2020 at 5:41 pm

    I love how you say South Africa. This is where i live. When are you coming to film here please?

  68. Greg Elgie January 25, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Happy birthday, Gene!

  69. Bishal Gautam January 25, 2020 at 5:49 pm

    Lots of Details. Awesome.
    And yeah.
    Happy Birthday to You Man, Best Wishes.

  70. Drop It Studio January 25, 2020 at 5:53 pm

    6:01 Look like a Nvidia 3D render ads

  71. Lyle Thompson January 25, 2020 at 6:02 pm

    Happy belated birthday 🎁

  72. Caleb Owens January 25, 2020 at 6:02 pm

    Can we talk about that catch at 3:05? The referee is on x games mode

  73. Asten Regis January 25, 2020 at 6:12 pm

    Potato Jet: Leaves c500 mkii on the road in the background while vlogging. Car drives by so close.
    Me: HEART ATTACK!

  74. Doddsy January 25, 2020 at 6:32 pm

    Yo your birthday is one day after mine, happy birth xox

  75. M Private January 25, 2020 at 6:40 pm

    Hi potato! Quick question: is it posible to film 2k 120fps 10bit Pro Res 422 without crop, using the full frame sensor? Thank you in advance for your answer man! Love the budist part 😊

  76. Aldrin Detablan January 25, 2020 at 6:43 pm

    a little too late but Happy Birthday man!

  77. HACKER Pro January 25, 2020 at 6:52 pm

    Meet Your Asian Brother

  78. superjan008 January 25, 2020 at 6:57 pm

    Happy Birthday 😀😀😀

  79. Erskin Hansen January 25, 2020 at 7:12 pm

    You should upgrade your name its final form… Mash Potato Jet

  80. Sherry Bora January 25, 2020 at 7:15 pm

    I have a question; if you need to do a video tutorial while working with chemicals (spray paints, epoxy etc) where you have to use a full face respirator mask… are you stuck with voice-overs or is there a mic that will fit and work properly inside of a mask?

  81. Lightness Studio January 25, 2020 at 7:22 pm

    Happy B😁

  82. Dave Gesell January 25, 2020 at 7:42 pm

    Happy Birthday Gene!

  83. Lucian Mihai Purușniuc January 25, 2020 at 7:43 pm

    My first kid was born yesterday, on jan 24.

  84. Alexander Stover January 25, 2020 at 7:44 pm

    You aren't using your birthday powers enough. You should have banned us from making more UP jokes.

  85. SmallEagle FPV January 25, 2020 at 8:20 pm

    Excellent review! I have to say, you are one of THE best vloggers I have seen to date bro. Your vids are so enjoyable and informative, and your camera presence is stellar! The comedic aspect is a great touch. Keep up the great work!

  86. Patrick Kirby January 25, 2020 at 8:38 pm

    Test the Z Cam E2 F6!!! Would be an amazing comparrison!

  87. DON _ALD January 25, 2020 at 8:38 pm

    We used one of your videos in class today mahn, Happy 31st !!!!

  88. Philip England January 25, 2020 at 8:44 pm

    Happy Birthday Potato!

  89. Jeff Palmer January 25, 2020 at 8:47 pm

    Happy birthday Gene.

  90. Manuel Greil January 25, 2020 at 9:02 pm

    Sooo…….C500 giveaway? 🙂 🙂

  91. Affan Ahmed January 25, 2020 at 9:03 pm

    What about giveway

  92. paolobacardi January 25, 2020 at 9:46 pm

    Don't act your age, act your shoe size 🙂

  93. FRANKDEASYMILLZ319 January 25, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    happy birthday

  94. Орест Кайдрович January 25, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    з днем народження)

  95. Jarrett Paige January 25, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    Hey, your a year older than me. Joining you in the 30 club this March!

  96. Juan Quedo January 25, 2020 at 10:11 pm

    Gene at 31: Cool car, awesome motorbike, lots of very expensive cameras and lenses, successful youtube chanel…so on…
    Me close to 36: Oh look an old penny in my pocket…..

  97. Oscar January 25, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    I AM FROM SOUTH AFRICA!!! Shouting you out when my channel blows up 🤪 …

  98. Cassiar January 25, 2020 at 10:22 pm

    Just bought a c100 and I really did not want to watch this video. But I couldnt help it..

  99. ERFGjr Channel January 25, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    Gene is the only vlogger who can use a C500Mii as a vlogging camera and can switch places (countries) in just a blink of an eye and he is a potato.

  100. NathHeimberg January 25, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Happy Birthday Potato! 👊

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *